Author Topic: Ultra-tec V2  (Read 1770 times)

reinhardt

Ultra-tec V2
« on: August 15, 2014, 11:45:08 AM »
I'm brand new to this hobby and have been looking for used cabbing setups and trim saws.  Went to an estate sale and picked up one of these:

http://www.ultratec-facet.com/V2Main.htm

I would love to say that I knew what I was getting, but I bought it thinking it was some strange kind of horizontal lap.  I got about 10 or so Crystalite wheels with it.  I've spent the better part of the morning cleaning it up and it looks nice and everything works.

My questions are what are people's thoughts on these?  Are they good machines?  I've never really thought much about faceting and as I'm just beginning I was really looking to get some experience cabbing.  That being said, should I keep it just in case (they are quite expensive new)? 

Any thoughts or shared experience with the V2 would be greatly appreciated.

trigon

• View Profile
Re: Ultra-tec V2
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2014, 03:04:29 PM »
Ultra-tec's are very good machines. I have an old one that I need to learn to use better. If you are a beginning cabber, I can tell you that a lot of people move on into more advanced cutting like carving and faceting. If that's the case for you, I'd think you'll be very happy you have that machine, someday.

Just curious, what did you pay for it?

reinhardt

« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2014, 03:39:04 PM »
For around $200 I'm replacing the drain pan, the reservoir and tubing and the rubber feet as they're all shot.  As far as the price goes, let's just say that I'm spending more than four times as much to replace those parts than I did for the machine and the wheels. 

dickb

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2014, 09:38:33 PM »