Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Stone Discoloration  (Read 931 times)

RutherfordbHaye5

Stone Discoloration
« on: January 24, 2019, 12:53:19 PM »

Let me start by saying im a noob when it comes to cabbing. I got a rough stone with small silicate deposits recently and I cut a small slab off it to get a better look at the insides. I suddenly had to leave and left the cutting oil on the stone for around 24 hours. When I came back to it the stone looked significantly darker, even after giving it a wash. What does this mean? Is the stone more porous than it looks and absorbed the oil? Is mineral oil not a good thing to leave on a stone? I'll try to post some pictures but the resolution is too high on the ones I have so I need to retake them tonight.

lithicbeads

• Administrator
Re: Stone Discoloration
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2019, 05:15:22 PM »