Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: New member with question: spitter or drip?  (Read 3242 times)

Delia_Stone

New member with question: spitter or drip?
« on: November 06, 2017, 01:38:56 PM »

Hello,
My name is Delia and I've been making jewelry for many years.  Recently my husband and I decided to invest in a lapidary machine.  I was speaking to a friend about this recently who said not to get a machine with a drip system, rather to get one with a spitter.  She said she had heard bad stories about the drip systems but didn't go I to details and I didn't think to ask at the time.  I would really appreciatehearing from some of the members here on what their preference is and why.  What do you see as the advantage/disadvantage of each?  I read some other posts here I  the forum where someone mentioned that the drip advantage was that only clean water was on the stone.  Does that really make a difference and if so would you mind explaining why?  Remember, I am a 100% newb so if I ask an ignorant question it is because I am ignorant of the subject matter and asking is how I begin to shed that ignorance. 😁 
Thank you all in advance for sharing your time and experience with me.

Delia Stone

Delia_Stone

Re: New member with question: spitter or drip?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2017, 01:41:40 PM »