Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Belt guards. What is your approach?  (Read 1794 times)

Grayco

Belt guards. What is your approach?
« on: February 15, 2017, 08:33:53 AM »

It seems that older equipment does not have belt guards.  I am an industrial mechanic and have seen what fingers look like after they have been run through a pulley.  It ain't pretty! :nono:
Ideally, a good cover prevents the possibility of anyone being able to get any part of their body or clothing into the spinning belt.

Belt guards are usually made of sheetmetal and mounted securely to the machine with accommodations to remove enough of the guard to easily service the belt or pullies.

I don't have sheet metal tools.  I can cut it and make small bends but I don't have a brake and I don't have a welder. (I have a Oxy Accet set I bought in the early 70s but the tanks haven't had gas in then for decades.)

Peruano
posted pictures of his saw, where he used plastic bread trays to cover his belts.  :headbang:
http://s275.photobucket.com/user/rababikes/media/lapidary/IMG_0278_zps57ee324c.jpg.html
http://s275.photobucket.com/user/rababikes/media/lapidary/DSCN2295_zps8bced897.jpg.html
http://s275.photobucket.com/user/rababikes/media/lapidary/DSCN2335_zps8a930758.jpg.html

What have you come up with?