Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Question about selling cabs and jewelry  (Read 2113 times)

OurEarthlyDesigns

Question about selling cabs and jewelry
« on: May 18, 2017, 08:10:20 PM »

So as I've stated in other threads, I'm fairly new to lapidary and jewelry making. My question is is there a market for quality made cabs, and jewelry. I recently posted two of my cabs on etsy and have many more to put on. However I have yet to have anybody visit my site. Any pointers on how to start selling, and is it not really a hobby to pursue to make much money? It's not all about money for me. I really enjoy the hobby, but I'm just wanting to know what to expect, and if selling them is worth the effort.
Thanks,
Michael

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Michael
Our Earthly Designs
Santa Rosa Ca

Redrummd

• Global Moderator
    • Art In Stone
Re: Question about selling cabs and jewelry
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2017, 08:22:25 PM »

There  are thousands of hobbyists cutting and selling works and add to that the mass produced cabs from China, India, Indonesia etc.  Unless you have very rare colorful materials you will have a difficult time developing a following and low probability of developing a dependable income stream.