Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Question about quartz  (Read 1619 times)

abdullahmasede

Question about quartz
« on: April 27, 2021, 06:40:17 AM »

Hello all,
First of all thank you for accepting me in to the group. My name is Abdullah and I am from Pakistan. I am an Automotive detailer by profession.
Now coming to the topic.
I received two Quartz crystal clusters from a neighbor. He said can see if you can clean them somehow since you are a detailer and you have cleaning chemicals and you can keep these two clusters. So I agreed. I guess he is new to the crystal trade. Now I know that people are using Iron out, from the research I did online, and oxalic acid to clean crystals but both of them are not available here.  Oxalic acid you can not buy over the counter. I use Iron and rust remover all the time in my detailing but he said to find something cheaper as they are expensive here. So I submerged on crystal in toilet cleaner, it ingredients are Conc. HCL 30%... Linear Alkyl Benzene Sulphonic acid(LABSA-96%) 10%.... Citric acid 5%.... Water 55%.
Now it did clean the crystal but made it yellow.
So what should I do now? I am attaching the pictures of both the crystal clusters. One is still untouched. I was thinking of submerging that on in vinegar first.. and what do you guy think about sulfuric acid? And can anyone tell what kind of quartz are these?