Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello from Oregon  (Read 327 times)

S.bainard

Hello from Oregon
« on: April 22, 2023, 10:17:01 AM »

Hello all! I am fairly new to rockhounding and would love all advice, tips, and whatever pearls of wisdom I can get from everyone. I bought an old Lorraine 10” slab saw and I love it! My only issue is that I don’t know what type of diamond blade is best for agate and jasper (primarily what I want to cut) and I know I should be using a dressing stone to keep the blade cutting well. Just not sure what type works the best. So if anyone has any advice about those things, I would be so grateful! Thank you and I’m excited to check this site out!

lithicbeads

• Administrator
Re: Hello from Oregon
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2023, 10:36:57 AM »

The MK blades are more or less the gold standard. Lots of blades can be found at the Kingsley-North website. Highland Park lapidary has a good green blade I am told and their video on blade sharpening  seems to be the definitive one . Welcome.

S.bainard

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2023, 10:45:56 AM »

Thank you! I will check those out!

55fossil

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2023, 01:24:07 PM »