Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sludge  (Read 374 times)

melvinrose

Sludge
« on: March 12, 2023, 05:46:39 PM »

I am new to lapidary sawing. I bought an 18” Hiland Park saw that is like new. It also came with mineral oil in three separate containers. In one container there’s about two gallons of sludge left in the bottom of the container. What is the proper way of disposing of this stuff? Tx, Melvin

bilquest

• Rocks and Stuff
Re: Sludge
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2023, 08:41:59 PM »

Ugh!  Saw sludge... not fun, and messy too.  Back when I was using mineral oil I would strain it through two brown paper grocery bags in 5 gallon buckets.  It would take months for the oil to filter through, but in the end was just brown paper bags with oily mud that I put in with the normal garbage.  Any strained oil got used the next time I cleaned out the saw.  Since it wasn't a petroleum product I wasn't worried about environmental hazard in the landfill.  If your oil is something else, you might want to contact your local landfill and ask them how to properly dispose of it.

If I ever get a saw like yours, I would also buy an Everclean (tm.) unit from HP.  It spins out the rock into tidy canisters that can easily be disposed.  Good luck!

melvinrose

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2023, 05:50:59 AM »