Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Apache chrysocolla  (Read 1137 times)

Tippin8609

Apache chrysocolla
« on: September 14, 2017, 12:28:27 PM »

Hi all, I am new to this forum, but after reading several posts decided it was a good place for information. I've been cabbing for about twenty five years, and have started a pretty good collection of rough over those years. I recently bought several pounds of apache chrysocolla. I remembered it coming out around 2000, but disappearing quickly. I've stabilized a few pieces with polybond, a few with hot stuff and a filler, but was wondering if anyone had experimented with other ways of stabilizing it. It is classic chrysocolla, undercuts, falls apart, etc. but oh my when one cooperates it is as stunning a cab as one could possibly ask for. The most difficult are the shattuckite/bright red cuprite. Appreciate any input, thanks Karen

Jhon P

Re: Apache chrysocolla
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2017, 05:27:02 PM »

I bought a couple of pounds last year. I have used xtal and bond optic with pretty good results

Tippin8609

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2017, 05:28:44 AM »