Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Turning tile saw into a jade trim saw  (Read 1208 times)

latte

Turning tile saw into a jade trim saw
« on: July 25, 2018, 12:59:06 PM »

Hi,
I am a newbie learning to carve jade and hoping to turn a 7 inch tile saw that I have into a trim saw and also a small slab saw for jade.
Is this a reasonable thing to do?  Will I need a speed reducer? What would be a good blade to use?  Will I be able to cut even slabs without
a vise and power feed?
Any and all suggestions will be appreciated.
Latte

irockhound

• RockhoundingUSA
Re: Turning tile saw into a jade trim saw
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2018, 06:08:46 PM »

You can use the saw without speed reducing if you use a blade such as the "Agate Kutter" which is the Barranca Diamond BD-305 that is designed for the high rpm of the tile saws.   Otherwise if you are using std lapidary blades you would need to reduce the speed.

latte

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2018, 06:24:17 PM »

Thank you, irockhound.

peruano

• Retired Zoologist
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2018, 04:47:15 AM »