Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Clamping round rocks  (Read 8572 times)

nwbeachrocker

Clamping round rocks
« on: January 02, 2017, 08:21:53 PM »

I am new to using a slab saw and have some very round nodules of agate I am looking to slab on my ls12.  Does anyone have any tricks to holding a round rock, that will allow more slabs to be cut from it before losing the ability to hold it?  I read somewhere about using plaster paris molds, but wasn't sure if this was a common or effective practice or not.

jerrysg

Re: Clamping round rocks
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2017, 09:50:01 PM »

You didn't say how big the rock is but I would clamp it enough to make one cut. Then glue (epoxy, silicone or super glue) the cut surface to a piece of wood, corian or other uniform material.  Then clamp the wood etc. into the saw vise and cut away.

That first cut you make could be anywhere but I would make it close to the edge to just get a flat to glue.