Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello from Alabama!! New to collecting!! Need help I.D Please!!  (Read 2284 times)

johnsurginer

Hello from Alabama!! New to collecting!! Need help I.D Please!!
« on: February 16, 2017, 01:27:43 PM »

Hello out there!! Im new to collecting. It all began one day after a heavy rain, I was walking the property and came across a section or the trail that had been washed out by the heavy rains. In the sticky red clay I noticed a large log that  had be exposed, when I went to picked it up I knew immediaty from how heavy it was that it had to be petrified wood. I was excited because I had never found piece of petrified wood that large.
    The real surprise & excitment come though, when I got home and began to wash the thick red clay off. I began scrubbing the first piece and realized quickly this wasnt ordinary petrified wood. With hours of carefully scrubbing with a tooth brush I clean away the clay exposing huge vains of shining crystals on the outside as well as crystals caverns internally.