Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Further polishing issues  (Read 3213 times)

Bluetangclan

Further polishing issues
« on: August 23, 2016, 07:48:21 AM »

I have been doing this a while so I am not an absolute newb so I have the impression here something is wrong. 6 wheel cab king arbor. Do the main cutting and shaping work on the 80 wheel, some fine tuning on the 220, and then start working out the scratches on the 280 soft wheel. Makes sense, its what was taught in the class I took, but I am coming across an issue. The 280 doesn't seem to work all the time or else the 220 is just gauging the hell out of my rocks. Doesn't happen to every stone and softness doesn't seem to play a role. I have had sodalite, rhodondite and jade go through these three no problem with no heavy scratches. But working jasper and pudding stone for example, I am finding I am spending 30-40 minutes on the 280 trying to get scratches out from the 220 and even then they might not be gone.

I remember in class on the genie I rarely spent more than a few minutes on any stone type and do not remember these massive gauges from the hard wheels. What am I doing wrong? Its not supposed to be that hard and take that long on one step.

Orrum

Re: Further polishing issues
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2016, 08:35:31 AM »