Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Drill bit size for drilling holes in stone  (Read 2323 times)

Bluetangclan

Drill bit size for drilling holes in stone
« on: August 26, 2016, 06:26:35 PM »

I plan on drilling a few stones that I wont be wrapping just to put on leather thongs. I am not very good at the whole metric sizing thing. What size drill bits do I need to buy in bulk for my drill press for a normal leather thong? I know leather comes in different sizes, so the finishing size will obviously be bigger than the thong. But what size should I start drilling the hole with before widening to the next size or two? I know I will be burning through them regardless.

Jhon P

Re: Drill bit size for drilling holes in stone
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2016, 07:36:18 PM »

This hole is 5mm. It may be bigger than you need. I suggest that you buy a few different sizes and see what works best before investing in a large quantity.  I like to drill the hole when the preform is still flat so the drill dosent walk on the dome. Than I grind the cab and make sure that it is centered.

lithicbeads

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2016, 10:34:14 PM »

For a double through like shown a 4 or 2.5 mil is pretty standard according to your cord diameter.

Bluetangclan

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2016, 06:46:34 AM »