Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Favorite Stones  (Read 2128 times)

Michael

Favorite Stones
« on: January 11, 2018, 05:58:28 PM »

Gentlemen:

I have been working stone for the past five years.  In that time, I have come to appreciate quality rock over, well, lets say "less than quality."  We spend a lot of time cutting, shaping and polishing, and then cleaning out all the stone dust and mucking out our saws.  I have no problem with all of that except I want it to be worth the effort.  I know all of you have favorite rock to fabricate, so I would like your opinion.  If you could have your choice of stone what would it be?  If this sounds like a survey, I apologize.  I myself despise surveys.  Let's say you had limited time to work a rock, what would you choose.  Myself?  I found blue chalcedony from Malwai (sp?) Africa at Tucson last year.  Pricey?  You betcha!  Bought a piece after going through most of the lot.  It turned out to be something I really well had a lot of respect for.   I am going to Quartzite and Tuscon this month.  Anyone on the forum going?
Mike

lithicbeads

• Administrator
Re: Favorite Stones
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 08:37:40 PM »

Mississippi peanut butter brickle rock , the most subtle and saturated colors in any rock I have cut.

hummingbirdstones

• Opalholic and General Rock Nut
  • Administrator