Gadgets, Gizmos, and Dohickeys > What Equipment to Buy and Where to Get it.

Stay away from the Al Sesona grinder!!!!!!

(1/4) > >>

Barclay:
I have been looking at getting into intarsia.  I saw the ads for the Al Sesona grinder and it looked like a compact precision made machine.  I went to the website and clicked on the Free Information Kit link and discovered that it does not work.  I should have known something was wrong.  Not to be deterred I clicked on the contact link and asked for product information.  In about a week I got a letter with price list, with a few pictures and not the clearest descriptions of what he has for sale.  Being a machinist by trade he has developed some unique gear for his grinder and given this gear his own unique names.  Still not being sure what gear is necessary, what is optional and what is for really high end complex jobs I send him what I though was a simple request, "I got the letter with all of the options and attachments, but I am unclear what I would need to do intarsias".  Nearly all business people when asked "What do I need to buy from you" respond with a list of what to buy or try to figure out your needs so they can give you a list.  Al's response was,"Google Intarsia on-line and seek enlightening references to provide insight some helpful guidance". He adds to go find a local rock club that does intarsia with one of his grinders and ask them. He then goes on to say how a local lapidary school uses his product and is very happy with it.  The problem with Googling intarsia is that you don't find out what Al Sesona grinder products you need.  By now I am kind of peeved at his "don't bother me" attitude, but I am not ready to write him off so i email him back.  "So you are not going to tell me what pieces of gear I need to buy from you to do intarsia?  If that is too much to ask then I will take my business elsewhere".  He responds that his grinder comes with a 180 grit lap, tells me the price and adds, "Wish I could be  m