Applying to join this forum, you HAVE to activate your membership in YOUR email in the notice you recieve after completing application process. No activation on your part, no membership.

Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to Bobby1 and his Brazilian Agate Cab!

www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello from North Texas  (Read 1254 times)

sparx

Hello from North Texas
« on: December 10, 2020, 06:44:17 AM »

Greetings!

I'm a new member from North Texas (originally from New Mexico). I have been a hobbyist rockhound since my childhood days and was taught how to cab gems in 9th grade by my math teacher. I continued to cab stones using equipment belonging to an artist friend of my parents for a silver jewelry hobby I had at the time, too, when they went to visit him, though that ended when I moved away from home in the late 70's.

Long story short is that in 2014 I "rediscovered" my silversmithing hobby that I had also abandoned back then (silversmithing in tiny studio apartments wasn't easy), but missed being able to cab my own stones. I have cabbed some small stuff slabbed with my tile saw and using my flex shaft with diamond burs/bits/paste, but longed to get back in front of larger wheels.

Well, that longing has finally become reality, and I can't wait until Christmas day when I get to unbox my new cabbing machine/trim saw and get back at it again! I have been hauling a small box of rough and slabs that I've had since the 70's with us through every move, so have a little bit of stone to get started with and can hardly wait!