Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to ToTheSummit and his Condor Cab!

 www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 14" Frantom Motor size?  (Read 746 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kanecats

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
14" Frantom Motor size?
« on: June 18, 2018, 07:22:07 AM »

Hi All,
Just got a 14" Frantom and the motor is fried. It has the original 1/3 HP motor. Folks have recommended to me to bump up to a 3/4 HP motor and I wanted to get opinions from those of you running these saws. Anyone running 220?
Logged


Stonemon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 440
Re: 14" Frantom Motor size?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2018, 08:43:00 AM »

I run a 24" Frantom with 1 hp. It has no trouble with power. I think a 3/4 horse would be plenty. I have never seen one of these powered by a 240v. Seems like that would work fine but is not necessary.   My 2 cents...
Logged


Bill

55fossil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 646
Re: 14" Frantom Motor size?
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2018, 09:43:48 AM »

   My Frantom 18 inch has a 1/2 HP motor and works great. I have a 24 inch Covington with a 110/220 VAC motor. It was running on 220 when I purchased it. I changed it to 110 as that is the power I had in the barn. It cuts just fine on 110. But, I have run 220vac to the barn now and plan on changing over just to see if there is a difference.  Go Frantom's........
Logged

Slabbercabber

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 371
Re: 14" Frantom Motor size?
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2018, 05:24:06 PM »

1/2 hp would work but I would go with 3/4.  I like a little overhead so the motor does not get as warm.
Logged

Jhon P

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1576
Re: 14" Frantom Motor size?
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2018, 06:57:55 AM »

Are you sure it’s the motor? I have a frantom 18” oil get in the switch and it will quit working. I have replaced mine a few  of times. And I would go with a 3/4 hp motor
Logged

MurphyStone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
Re: 14" Frantom Motor size?
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2018, 11:38:57 AM »

Did you just pick this up out of michigan?  Looks like something I saw somewhat local. 

I used to go through 1/3hp on my 14" quite often, just bumped it to a 1HP and hope to get better longevity. 

Logged

lapidaryrough

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 207
    • www.lapidaryrough.com
Re: 14" Frantom Motor size?
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2018, 11:51:31 AM »

The photo shows a cheap motor from the 80s,
 Toms Saws were sent out with Baldor motors.  On his wife saws, Fran - an - Tom.

  My  1956 Frantom had the 3/4 Hp. Baldor.
 The start plate went out on the capacitor start up phase.

  Changed too a Lassen Farm duty  1 Hp. 220. Less amp pull an cheaper to run.

  Farm duty motors are best for all needs.
 Hp ratings have changed due to the type of wiring used.
Capacitor start motor with sealed farm duty bearings. for indoor / outdoor all weather use.
  Old equipment 3/4 hp. then / now 1 hp - 1.5 hp.
Logged
Silicate life form

kanecats

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: 14" Frantom Motor size?
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2018, 10:50:01 AM »

Thank you all for the tips. I have been looking at Baldor and Leeson 3/4 hp motors. I think that will work out fine based off of what you all have said!

@MurphyStone-yes this is the Michigan saw you likely saw locally. It is hard to find good older equipment in New Jersey!
Logged

MurphyStone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
Re: 14" Frantom Motor size?
« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2018, 11:33:06 AM »


@MurphyStone-yes this is the Michigan saw you likely saw locally. It is hard to find good older equipment in New Jersey!

On the cheap harbor freight 1HP motor will get you going.   

Bummer was hoping you were in Mi, always looking for more people around here. 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.077 seconds with 43 queries.