Lapidaryforum.net

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome new members & old from the Lapidary/Gemstone Community Forum. Please join up. You will be approved after spam check & you must manually activate your acct with the link in your email

Congratulations to ToTheSummit and his Condor Cab!

 www.lapidaryforum.net

Another cabochon contest coming soon!

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Need a new motor for my 6" saw  (Read 730 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Bluetangclan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« on: November 30, 2018, 04:17:37 PM »

I have a Hightech 6" variable speed saw. Its barely functioning at this point, powering up and powering down. Barely will cut the softest stone and I can stop it with my finger(on the side). I think its the 1/4th hp motor. Does anyone have a source for these motors? Is it worth even replacing it?
Saw is a no name. Looks exactly like this:

 https://www.amazon.com/Hi-Tech-Diamond-Lapidary-Cutting-Trimming/dp/B01N9USCHR/ref=sr_1_8?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1543622996&sr=1-8&keywords=1%2F4+hp%2C+heavy-duty%2C+ball+bearing+motor+in+variable+speed

Mine doesnt have numbers on the variable speed dial.
Logged


gemfeller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 494
    • Art Cut Gems
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2018, 04:32:51 PM »

You could probably get a replacement motor from Hi Tech:

https://hitechdiamond.com/product-category/lap-machines/

Logged

Bluetangclan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2018, 04:50:28 PM »

Its a Hitech clone and Hitech doesnt sell motors. They insist on installing replacements themselves at $175 no less. I just need to be able to order a motor so I can get it going quickly.
Logged

Stonemon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 446
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2018, 05:12:10 PM »

Logged


Bill

Bluetangclan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2018, 09:19:55 PM »

Ill unstrap it and cut the wires. From what I can see of it there isnt any markings. But some of those look like they would work. Yay, new project for the morning. If not I might be able to talk my wife into a 10" saw replacement :P
Logged

Slabbercabber

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 381
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2018, 05:51:01 AM »

The problem almost certainly is not the motor but the variable speed control.  There are many ways these can work but most of them are inexpensive.  A good control on the other hand would account for a large part of that high priced Hi Tech.  Open it up and see what you have.  It could be something as simple as a burned resister.
Logged

Phishisgroovin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2773
  • I am here by addiction
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2018, 06:31:54 AM »

if you were in the seattle area, McLendons hardware carries small electric motors in the electrical area

Take a photo of the motor and post it please?
Logged

Phishisgroovin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2773
  • I am here by addiction
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2018, 06:35:34 AM »

i bet it just needs new brushes and the armature cleaned up.
Logged

Bluetangclan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2018, 08:50:51 AM »

I am on the exact opposite corner of the country in Orlando. Headed out to have a look
Logged

Bluetangclan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2018, 09:26:38 AM »

Come to find out, it is a Hitech 60hz motor. Whats a good replacement, since I am not paying almost more than I bought it for for them to replace it?
Logged

Bluetangclan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2018, 09:27:14 AM »

Another total pic
Logged

gemfeller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 494
    • Art Cut Gems
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2018, 09:57:13 AM »

There's a Grainger Supply store in Orlando.  You might take the motor to them and see if they can help.  They have a huge stock of stuff like that.
Logged

Bluetangclan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2018, 05:16:22 PM »

I'll give Grainger a try tomorrow. Its about an hour away but even with gas and tolls a new motor there would be cheaper than a new saw.

Question, would a 10" saw serve as a trim saw or is it too big?
Logged

Bluetangclan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #13 on: December 03, 2018, 05:03:54 PM »

Grainger was unfortunately a failed 45 minute drive. They dont carry any motors of that horsepower in a size small enough. The closest(and really only option) was a 1/20HP :(

Still hunting some of my friends to find a used saw at a decent price. Trying to decide whether a 6" saw or a 10" saw would suit my needs better if I do have to go new.
Logged

Phishisgroovin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2773
  • I am here by addiction
Re: Need a new motor for my 6" saw
« Reply #14 on: December 03, 2018, 06:58:25 PM »

I see on ebay people selling those little motors with what looks like the knobby on the shaft already
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.085 seconds with 55 queries.